Board of Harbor Commissioners Seated


August 29, 2001 - Nicholas Tonsich was elected president and Elwood Lui, vice president, of the Los Angeles Board of Harbor Commissioners. James Acevedo, Camilla Townsend Kocol, and Thomas H. Warren complete the five-member Board of Harbor Commissioners appointed recently by Mayor James Hahn and approved by the Los Angeles City Council.
Tonsich is a partner in the law firm Glaser, Tonsich & Brajevich, LLP. He was formerly a prosecutor in the Long Beach City Prosecutor’s Office, and served as president of the Harbor Bar Association from 1996-97.
Lui is a partner in the law firm Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue, and has served as a judge for the Los Angeles County Superior Court and the Los Angeles Judicial District Municipal Court. He served on the Ad Hoc Committee to Revise the Charter of the City of Los Angeles, and the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Citizen Advisory Committee. He has also served as president of the California Judges Association.
Acevedo formerly served on the Los Angeles City Fire Commission as well as the Los Angeles Board of Zoning Appeals. He is president of the Neighborhood Empowerment and Economic Development, Inc., a non-profit developer of affordable family and senior housing in the northeast San Fernando Valley.
Kocol is the principal of San Pedro/Narbonne Community Adult School. She currently serves as a member of the board of directors of the Boys and Girls Club of San Pedro and the San Pedro Peninsula Chamber of Commerce.
Warren is the past president and business agent of the I.L.W.U. Local 63 Marine Clerks Association. He is currently the chief supervisor at the California United Terminals, which handles Chiquita Bananas. A lifetime resident of San Pedro, he has 34 years of waterfront experience, and also served with the United States Coast Guard.
The Board of Harbor Commissioners meets every second and fourth Wednesday of the month at 8:30 a.m. on the 2nd floor of the Port of Los Angeles Administration Building, 425 South Palos Verdes Street, San Pedro, California.